Dead World Spinning

DEAD WORLD SPINNING
“If you follow Jesus, you will be persecuted.” I’ve never heard a sermon like that, and certainly never heard an evangelist close with a “come to Jesus, he awaits to give you a life where people treat you like garbage.” As I laugh at the very picture of that, I realize it would be ridiculous to expect anybody to pull off a line like that….except Jesus did.
Who wants that? I have my full quota of people who treat me badly enough; why would I willfully choose more relational difficulty and potential humiliation for my life?
That’s how I see the offer. Because my perspective is, well, warped…at best. It belies my true values, and I don’t mean the hardware store kind, I mean the kind that attaches itself like a summer tick to the skin, burrowing itself head deep…to the things of the earth.
My home is the earth. My people are its inhabitants. My values are their values of success, importance, significance. My world is this world. Yes, I’m at home here. But this casa isn’t supposed to be my casa. My citizenship is in heaven.
If I dare take on the perspective of the Kingdom, I see the world clearly…as a dead world spinning. It will pass away, God’s word will stand. Earth’s values are in contradiction with the ways of Jesus. God’s Kingdom will last, it isn’t made by hands. HIS Kingdom is written on my heart.
Of course I will take it on the chin for living like Christ. Jesus was called the prince of demons; he tells us not to be surprised when we’re called his Mini-Me.
Everything about Him flies in the face of the world’s system. Yet it’s not just evil alone in a vacuum. This kind of evil is systematized, acculturated, and all those who challenge it’s flow will be caught in the rapids. Choosing the Kingdom makes me the kid at the mall going UP the downstairs escalator…with all the disdainful looks of the riders (and the ire of the mall cop booking it from Sears on his segway at the report of the juvenile delinquent who dared break the rules). But Jesus says He has overcome the world, and we live FROM victory.
Put your eyes on the Kingdom; fix your eyes on Christ. Do not hold fast or attach yourself tightly to this earth. It’s time is short. There is a new heaven and earth coming and our reward lies there.
Give up the frustrations, the yearnings, the insanity of the earth’s system and trade it in for a heavenly perspective of this cursed blue marble and its spinning ways. Surrender your very life into the hands of your loving Father…and find it.

Leave a Reply

